Close this search box.

CIRTPA to host Public Information Meetings in July for Roadway Safety

The Central Iowa Regional Transportation Alliance (CIRTPA) will hold a series of public information meetings across Central Iowa regarding the regional Comprehensive Safety Action Plan. The Plan is being developed as part of the Safe Streets for All program, which aims to prevent deaths and serious injuries for all users on the nation’s roadways. The meetings will be held in an open-house format with no formal presentation.

The meeting for the Nevada community will be held on Tuesday, July 16, from 4 to 6 p.m. at Nevada City Hall, 1209 6th St.

The goal of the regional Safety Action Plan is to enhance roadway safety. The Plan will identify solutions and strategies for all people using the roads, including drivers, passengers, pedestrians, bicyclists, transit users, and people with disabilities. The Plan is being developed for the incorporated cities within Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Story, and Warren Counties. The unincorporated portions of the counties are part of a separate project. The Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) and Ames Area MPO regions are not included in the study area (see map below).

The public is invited to respond to a public survey regarding transportation safety in these communities. The survey may be accessed using the QR code shown below, which links to the survey (or go online to The survey solicits the experiences, concerns and ideas from the public that will be used to develop an actionable plan to improve safety. The public may respond to a series of questions or place comments on an interactive map.

Additional project information, such as meeting materials, will be added in July to the project webpage located on the CIRTPA website: Survey responses and comments may be submitted now through Aug. 31.
The project is funded by a competitive Safe Streets for All (SS4A) grant provided through the US Department of Transportation. Potential projects included in the plan may be eligible for implementation funding through the SS4A program.

Study Area
The CIRTPA Comprehensive Safety Action Plan Region includes all of the incorporated cities within the eight counties shown below (only larger cities are shown, but smaller cities are also included). Unincorporated portions of the counties are part of a separate study. The Des Moines area MPO and the Ames Area MPO regions (grayed out below) are not included in this study.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

No major news alerts at this time

This alert area will be used to notify residents of major news alerts in the City. Please sign up to receive text or email emergency alerts.

Emergency Alert Sign Up →
Skip to content