## LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JUNE 20, 2016, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Adam Riedell presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, June 20, 2016 at 5:02 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Fay Burdick, Barb Parker, Adam Riedell, Josh Sullivan, and Hank Zaletel. Absent: Chad Bauman (arrived at 5:12 p.m.) and Rebecca Funke.

Others in attendance were Library Director Beth Williams, Shanna Speer, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Barb Parker, seconded by Board Member Hank Zaletel, to *approve the agenda* as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Parker, Zaletel, Burdick, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Hank Zaletel, seconded by Board Member Fay Burdick, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

(1) Approve **minutes** of the May 18, 2016 regular meeting

(2) Approve January **claims** totaling \$11,859.60 (see attached list)

(3) Accept and place on file the Director's memo dated June 17, 2016

(4) Accept and place on file the June 2016 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Zaletel, Burdick, Parker, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Adam handed out a compilation of the board's comments and the board discussed the Library Director's evaluation.

Chad Bauman arrived at 5:12 p.m.

Motion by Board Member Barb Parker, seconded by Board Member Fay Burdick, to accept the Director's evaluation as presented. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Parker, Burdick, Riedell, Sullivan, Zaletel, and Bauman. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Barb Parker, seconded by Board Member Hank Zaletel, to accept Adam Riedell as Chair, Hank Zaletel as Vice-Chair, and Chad Bauman as Secretary. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Parker, Zaletel, Bauman, Burdick, and Sullivan. Nays: Riedell. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Committee appointments are as follows:

- Budget Committee: Adam Riedell, Josh Sullivan, and Hank Zaletel
- Gift Committee: Chad Bauman and Barb Parker
- Technology Committee: Rebecca Funke, Adam Riedell, and Hank Zaletel
- Landscape Committee: Chad Bauman and Barb Parker

Motion by Board Member Hank Zaletel, seconded by Board Member Chad Bauman, to accept the OCLC Agreement. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Zaletel, Bauman, Burdick, Parker, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Beth and Adam met with FEH, Larson & Larson, Mayor Lynn Lathrop, and Andy Kelly regarding the Kelly Laundry property. Beth has received an email from Don Seymour of FEH with pictures of the scaffolding and fencing on the North side during construction of the library building project. She will forward this on to the mayor, city administrator, and Andy Kelly.

Adam and Beth also talked to FEH and Larson & Larson about the landscaping on the North side. Don Seymour of FEH will be trying to get the library a credit for the plantings on the North that twice did not survive.

Library Director Beth Williams reported on:

- Activity Report The numbers are down again. There are a lot of people coming in to the library though.
- Fay Burdick will be resigning after this meeting. She is moving to Arizona.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, July 18, 2016 in the Library Meeting Room.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Barb Parker, seconded by Board Member Hank Zaletel, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Parker, Zaletel, Bauman, Burdick, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried. At 5:50 p.m. he adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:

Chad Bauman, Secretary

Adam Riedell, Chairperson