LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JUNE 19, 2017, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Adam Riedell presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, June 19, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the openmeeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Chad Bauman, Lisa Johnson, Barb Parker, Adam Riedell, Josh Sullivan, and Hank Zaletel. Absent: Rebecca Funke.

Others in attendance were Library Director Beth Williams, Shanna Speer, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member Hank Zaletel, to <u>approve the</u> <u>agenda</u> as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Zaletel, Bauman, Parker, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Barb Parker, seconded by Board Member Hank Zaletel, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

- (1) Approve **minutes** of the May 15, 2017 regular meeting
- (2) Approve June **claims** totaling \$18,043.79 (see attached list)
- (3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated June 12, 2017
- (4) Accept and place on file the June 2017 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Parker, Zaletel, Bauman, Johnson, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Adam spoke about the compilation of the comments as the Board reviewed the Director's evaluation.

Motion by Board Member Hank Zaletel, seconded by Board Member Josh Sullivan, to elect Adam Riedell as Chair; Chad Bauman as Vice-Chair; and Lisa Johnson as Secretary. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Zaletel, Sullivan, Bauman, Johnson, Parker, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Committee appointments are as follows:

- Budget Committee: Adam Riedell and Rebecca Funke
- Gift Committee: Chad Bauman, Barb Parker, and Luke Spence
- Technology Committee: Adam Riedell, Lisa Johnson, and Josh Sullivan
- Selection Committee: Chad Bauman will replace Hank Zaletel

Motion by Board Member Hank Zaletel, seconded by Board Member Barb Parker, to approve the OCLC Agreement. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Zaletel, Parker, Riedell, Sullivan, Bauman, and Johnson. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Beth has not heard anything new on digitizing the newspapers.

The date for applicants for the Library Director position was extended to June 30.

The trustees agreed to give Shanna some latitude in hours for the part-time staff during the interim period.

Motion by Board Member Hank Zaletel, seconded by Board Member Barb Parker, to raise the salary of Shanna Speer up by \$5.00/hour during the time when she will be the interim Library Director. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Zaletel, Parker, Riedell, Sullivan, Bauman, and Johnson. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

The board agreed that the discussion of the hiring process and staffing issues during the meeting would be the Continuing Education portion of the meeting.

Library Director Beth Williams reported on:

- This is Beth's last meeting with the Library Board. They thanked her for all of her years of service.
- This is also Hank's last meeting. They thanked him for his years of service.
- Luke Spence is the new trustee as of July 1, 2017.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, **July 17, 2017** in the Library Meeting Room.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Hank Zaletel, seconded by Board Member Chad Bauman, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Zaletel, Bauman, Johnson, Parker, Riedell, and Sullivan. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried. At 6:07 p.m. he adjourned the meeting.

| ATTEST: | | |
|---------|------------------------|---------------------------|
| | Chad Bauman, Secretary | Adam Riedell, Chairperson |