LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, AUGUST 20, 2018, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Adam Riedell presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, August 20, 2018 at 5:12 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Chad Bauman, Lisa Johnson, Peter Korsching, and Adam Riedell. Absent: Rebecca Funke, David Morris (arrived at 5:28 p.m.), and Barb Parker.

Others in attendance were Library Director Shanna Speer, Assistant Library Director Amanda Bellis, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Peter Korsching, seconded by Board Member Chad Bauman, to <u>approve</u> <u>the agenda</u> as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Korsching, Bauman, Johnson, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member Chad Bauman, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

- (1) Approve **minutes** of the July 16, 2018 regular meeting
- (2) Approve August **claims** totaling \$7,829.32 (see attached list)
- (3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated August 16, 2018
- (4) Accept and place on file the July 2018 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Bauman, Korsching, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

The Board Continuing Education: Transparent Languages Database will be postponed until the next meeting.

Motion by Board Member Peter Korsching, seconded by Board Member Lisa Johnson, to not renew the OCLC WorldShare ILL Annual Subscription for this current year. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Korsching, Johnson, Riedell, and Bauman. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Shanna found one public library with a Laptop Policy that allowed the laptops to leave the library. One librarian suggested they could modify policies for hot spots, however, hot spots can be turned off if not returned.

David Morris arrived at 5:28 p.m. The trustees welcomed him to the board.

The board decided that they would rather continue to use the 4 laptops in house and look into purchasing replacements for those laptops in the future.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member Peter Korsching, to approve the laptop policy. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Korsching, Morris, Riedell, and Bauman. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Library Director Shanna Speer reported on:

- Shanna asked the board to think about lending out hot spots. They asked if there was a state contract.
- Jalene Hornbuckle is looking for groups to help sort clothing for the Harmony Closet. The trustees wondered if the Friends group would like to join them.
- The Friends of the Library group provided Shanna with a name of someone who is working on their logo and Shanna is going to meet with that person to discuss designing the library's logo.
- Shanna has taken some complaints about the noise around the computer area. She is looking into possible solutions including noise reduction panels and a decibel meter.
- The summer programs had good participation.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, **September 17, 2018** in the Library Meeting Room.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member Chad Bauman, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Bauman, Korsching, Morris, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried. At 5:55 p.m. he adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:		
	Lisa Johnson, Secretary	Adam Riedell, Chairperson