LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, NOVEMBER 19, 2018, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Adam Riedell presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, November 19, 2018 at 5:02 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Rebecca Funke, Lisa Johnson, Peter Korsching, David Morris, Barb Parker, and Adam Riedell. Absent: Chad Bauman (arrived at 5:03 p.m.).

Others in attendance were Library Director Shanna Speer, Assistant Library Director Amanda Bellis, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member Peter Korsching, to *approve the agenda* as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Korsching, Morris, Parker, Riedell, and Funke. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Peter Korsching, seconded by Board Member Barb Parker, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

(1) Approve **minutes** of the October 15, 2018 regular meeting

(2) Approve November **claims** totaling \$6,447.14 (see attached list)

(3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated November 16, 2018

(4) Accept and place on file the October 2018 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Korsching, Parker, Riedell, Funke, Johnson, Morris. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Chad Bauman arrived at 5:03 p.m.

The Board revised the Strategic Plan's goals and mission statement.

Motion by Board Member Rebecca Funke, seconded by Board Member Lisa Johnson, to approve the Strategic Plan as amended. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Funke, Johnson, Korsching, Morris, Parker, Riedell, and Bauman. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

The Board learned about a new software program, Biblionix Apollo for Continuing Education. Discussion lasted 20 minutes.

Motion by Board Member Rebecca Funke, seconded by Board Member Peter Korsching, to upgrade to the Biblionix Apollo ILS pending the waiver of the migration fee. The roll being called,

the following named board members voted. Ayes: Funke, Korsching, Morris, Parker, Riedell, and Bauman. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Barb Parker, seconded by Board Member Chad Bauman, to approve the FY2019/2020 Library Budget. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Parker, Bauman, Funke, Johnson, Korsching, Morris, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member David Morris, to invest in a 18 month CD with Community Bank for 2.86%. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Morris, Parker, Bauman, Funke, and Korsching. Nays: None. Abstain: Riedell. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Peter Korsching, seconded by Board Member Barb Parker, to disburse 5% of the Nevada Public Library Endowment with the Story County Community Foundation. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Korsching, Parker, Riedell, Bauman, Funke, Johnson, and Morris. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Library Director Shanna Speer reported on:

- The janitor resigned effective November 29th. She has already posted the position.
- Barb Mittman talked to her about having Narcan in the library and have training for staff.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, **December 17, 2018** in the Library Meeting Room.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Lisa Johnson, seconded by Board Member Peter Korsching, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Johnson, Korsching, Morris, Parker, Riedell, Bauman, and Funke. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried. At 6:18 p.m. he adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:

Lisa Johnson, Secretary

Adam Riedell, Chairperson