LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JULY 15, 2019, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Adam Riedell presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, July 15, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the openmeeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Lisa Easley, Eric Gabrielson, Elizabeth Klaes, Adam Riedell, and Allison Severson. Absent: Peter Korsching and David Morris.

Others in attendance were Library Director Shanna Speer, Assistant Library Director Amanda Bellis, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Easley, seconded by Board Member Eric Gabrielson, to <u>approve the</u> <u>agenda</u> as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Easley, Gabrielson, Klaes, Riedell, and Severson. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Allison Severson, seconded by Board Member Elizabeth Klaes, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

- (1) Approve **minutes** of the June 17, 2019 regular meeting
- (2) Approve July 2019 **claims** totaling \$6,933.93 (see attached list)
- (3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated July 12, 2019
- (4) Accept and place on file the June 2019 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Severson, Klaes, Riedell, Easley, and Gabrielson. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Introductions were made for the new Board Members.

The following Committee Appointments were made:

Budget – Eric Gabrielson, Adam Riedell, and Allison Severson Technology – Elizabeth Klaes, David Morris, and Adam Riedell Gift – Lisa Easley and Peter Korsching

The board discussed the Director's Evaluation.

Motion by Board Member Allison Severson, seconded by Board Member Eric Gabrielson, to approve Shanna Speer's evaluation and to increase her salary by 5%. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Severson, Gabrielson, Klaes, Riedell, and Easley. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Lisa Easley, seconded by Board Member Elizabeth Klaes, to sunset the Miscellaneous Operations Policy. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Easley, Klaes, Riedell, Severson, and Gabrielson. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Allison Severson, seconded by Board Member Eric Gabrielson, to approve the Security Camera Policy. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Severson, Gabrielson, Klaes, Riedell, and Easley. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

The Board Continuing Education: 7 Habits of Effective Boards video and Trustee Tip Sheets was postponed until the next meeting.

Library Director Shanna Speer reported on:

- Shanna will be presenting the library's grant application to the Board of Supervisors for a new sign.
- The library has transitioned usage of Mediacom to city hall.
- The computers that were purchased in May will be paid in this fiscal year because the credit card statement did not arrive before the end of the FY 18/19. The city clerk stated that an amendment can be made in this fiscal year to cover the budget.
- They will be hiring a Library Clerk soon.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, August 19, 2019 in the Library Meeting Room.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Lisa Easley, seconded by Board Member Allison Severson, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Easley, Severson, Gabrielson, Klaes, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried. At 6:12 p.m. he adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:		
	Lisa Easley, Secretary	Adam Riedell, Chairperson