## LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JANUARY 13, 2020, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Adam Riedell presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, January 13, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada City Hall Council Chambers, 1209 6<sup>th</sup> Street, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Lisa Easley, Elizabeth Klaes, Peter Korsching, David Morris, Adam Riedell, and Allison Severson. Absent: Eric Gabrielson (arrived at 5:06 p.m.).

Others in attendance were Library Director Shanna Speer, Assistant Library Director Amanda Bellis, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Elizabeth Klaes, seconded by Board Member Lisa Easley, to <u>approve the</u> <u>agenda</u> as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Klaes, Easley, Korsching, Morris, Riedell, and Severson. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Peter Korsching, seconded by Board Member Allison Severson, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

(1) Approve **minutes** of the December 16, 2019 regular meeting

(2) Approve January 2020 **claims** totaling \$4,533.66 (see attached list)

(3) Accept and place on file the Director's memo dated January 10, 2020

(4) Accept and place on file the December 2019 **financial report** 

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Korsching, Severson, Easley, Klaes, Morris, and Riedell. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Eric Gabrielson arrived at 5:06 p.m.

Motion by Board Member Peter Korsching, seconded by Board Member David Morris, to approved the Tornado Shelter Policy. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Korsching, Morris, Riedell, Severson, Easley, Gabrielson, and Klaes. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Allison Severson, seconded by Board Member Lisa Easley, to approve the Storage Policy. The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Severson, Easley, Klaes, Korsching, Morris, and Riedell. Nays: Gabrielson. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried.

The board discussed the Trustee Handbook Chapter 10, Part 1: Legal Matters for continuing education for 18 minutes.

Library Director Shanna Speer reported on:

• The new Youth Librarian started January 6. He is doing well in training and has been reaching out to the elementary teachers to start getting the classes back into the library.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, February 17, 2020 in the Library Meeting Room.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Allison Severson, seconded by Board Member Eric Gabrielson, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Severson, Gabrielson, Klaes, Korsching, Morris, Riedell, and Easley. Nays: None. Chairperson Adam Riedell declared the motion carried. At 5:43 p.m. he adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:

Lisa Easley, Secretary

Adam Riedell, Chairperson