## LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JUNE 19, 2023, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Allison Severson presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, June 19, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Priscilla Gammon, Lynn Lathrop, Theresa Presley, Adam Riedell, Allison Severson, and James Woodard. Absent: Tim McLaughlin (arrived at 5:03 p.m.).

Others in attendance were Library Director Erin Coughlin, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, seconded by Board Member Adam Riedell, to *approve the agenda* as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Lathrop, Riedell, Severson, Woodard, Gammon, and Presley. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Adam Riedell, seconded by Board Member Theresa Presley, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

(1) Approve **minutes** of the May 15, 2023 regular meeting

(2) Approve June 2023 **claims** totaling \$11,608.45 (see attached list)

(3) Accept and place on file the Director's memo dated June 16, 2023

(4) Accept and place on file May 2023 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Riedell, Presley, Severson, Woodard, Gammon, and Lathrop. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Tim McLaughlin arrived at 5:03 p.m.

Motion by Board Member James Woodard, seconded by Board Member Adam Riedell, to approve the Conduct Policy as amended. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Woodard, Riedell, Severson, Gammon, Lathrop, McLaughlin, and Presley. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Theresa Presley, to approve the Bike Lock Use Waiver of Liability form. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Presley, Riedell, Severson, Woodard, Gammon, and Lathrop. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, to purchase 4 Dell Opti-plex Computers for staff for \$6,456. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Lathrop, Presley, Riedell, Severson, Woodard, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

For Continuing Education, Erin reviewed the State Library Statistics Comparison of E-sized Libraries. The discussion lasted 15 minutes.

Motion by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, seconded by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, to elect Allison Severson as Chair, Theresa Presley as Vice Chair, and Priscila Gammon as Secretary. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Lathrop, McLaughlin, Presley, Riedell, Severson, Woodard, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Library Director Erin Coughlin reported on:

- The equipment for the Story Stroll has been delivered. Erin will talk to Parks and Recreation on installation.
- Summer Learning program is going great. Thursday programming is at the Nevada Middle School.
- The library received a \$20,000 grant from the ALA LTC Accessible Small and Rural Communities to make the basement accessible.
- Erin has signed up staff for several training opportunities this summer. Kathy Solko-Manternach will also be speaking at the ILA Conference in the fall about the Seed Library.
- Thanks went to Adam Riedell on his many years of service on the Library Board.

Motion by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, seconded by Board Member James Woodard, to adjust Library Director Erin Coughlin's salary by 3.03% per the evaluation. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Lathrop, Woodard, Gammon, McLaughlin, Presley, Riedell, and Severson. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, July 15, 2023.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Adam Riedell, to *adjourn the meeting*. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Riedell, Severson, Woodard, Gammon, Lathrop, and Presley. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried. At 6:17 p.m. she adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:

Priscilla Gammon, Secretary

Allison Severson, Chairperson