LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JANUARY 8, 2024, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Allison Severson presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, January 8, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada City Hall Council Chambers, 1209 6th Street, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Emily Fulton, Priscilla Gammon, Lynn Lathrop, Tim McLaughlin, Theresa Presley, and Allison Severson. Absent: James Woodard (arrived at 5:03 p.m.).

Others in attendance were Library Director Erin Coughlin, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, to *approve the agenda* as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Lathrop, Presley, Severson, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Priscilla Gammon, seconded by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as amended:

- (1) Approve **minutes** of the December 18, 2023 regular meeting
- (2) Approve January 2024 claims totaling \$11,147.25 minus Check#83091 \$3,480.11 (not a library expense) making total \$7,667.14 (see attached list)
- (3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated January 5, 2024
- (4) Accept and place on file December 2023 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Gammon, McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Fulton, and Lathrop. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

James Woodard arrived at 5:03 p.m.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Emily Fulton, to approve the Hotspot Policy as presented. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Fulton, Gammon, Lathrop, Presley, Severson, and Woodard. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Meeting Room Chairs Quote - Uline

Motion by Board Member Allison Severson, seconded by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, to purchase 25 chairs at \$140.00 per chair from Uline. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Severson, Lathrop, McLaughlin, Presley, Woodard, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Erin reviewed the FY2023 Annual Report that will be presented to the City Council.

For Continuing Education, the board reviewed Chapter 9: Board Relationships with Director, Staff, and City. Discussion lasted 13 minutes.

Library Director Erin Coughlin reported on:

- Erin is continuing to working on building maintenance.
- A new intern clerk has started. Amanda will be working at the library longer than anticipated which will allow more time to find her replacement.
- The Midwest Author Series is set.
- The Story County libraries will meet with the Story County Board of Supervisors on February 6th.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, February 20, 2024.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member James Woodard, seconded by Board Member Emily Fulton, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Woodard, Fulton, Gammon, Lathrop, McLaughlin, Presley, and Severson. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried. At 5:45 p.m. she adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:

Priscilla Gammon, Secretary

Allison Severson, Chairperson