## LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, APRIL 15, 2024, 5:00 P.M.

Vice Chairperson Theresa Presley presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, April 15, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Emily Fulton, Priscilla Gammon, Lynn Lathrop, Tim McLaughlin, Theresa Presley, and James Woodard. Absent: Allison Severson (arrived at 5:05 p.m.).

Others in attendance were Library Director Erin Coughlin, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Emily Fulton, to <u>approve</u> <u>the agenda</u> as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Fulton, Gammon, Lathrop, Presley, and Woodard. Nays: None. Vice Chairperson Theresa Presley declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Priscilla Gammon, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

- (1) Approve **minutes** of the March 18, 2024 regular meeting
- (2) Approve April 2024 **claims** totaling \$14,799.35 (see attached list)
- (3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated April 12, 2024
- (4) Accept and place on file March 2024 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Gammon, Lathrop, Presley, Woodard, and Fulton. Nays: None. Vice Chairperson Theresa Presley declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, to approve the Enrich Iowa Agreement FY25. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Lathrop, Presley, Woodard, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Vice Chairperson Theresa Presley declared the motion carried.

Allison arrived at 5:05 p.m. during the discussion of the Storage Policy.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Emily Fulton, to approve the Storage Policy. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Fulton, Gammon, Lathrop, Presley, Severson, and Woodard. Nays: None. Vice Chairperson Theresa Presley declared the motion carried.

Allison Severson took over the meeting.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, to take the adjustment for 001-410-6551 off of the Library Budget Amendment proposal. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Lathrop, Presley, Severson, Woodard, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Theresa Presley, to approve the Budget Amendments for FY24 for line-item budgets for 182-411-6551 and 810-410-6310. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Woodard, Fulton, Gammon, and Lathrop. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Erin gave an update on the bills going through the State Legislature.

Library Director Erin Coughlin reported on:

- The chairlifts are installed and there is a three-year maintenance plan for them.
- Emily Holm has started part-time and will be full-time in June.
- There are three student intern clerks leaving soon and applications are being accepted to replace them.
- The National Library Week programs were successful.
- Staff has raised \$4500 for the Summer Learning Program.
- The Staff Development Day was very productive. Staff reviewed the Strategic Plan and came up with six priorities.
- A patron would like to donate a subscription for a magazine. The gift committee will review and it will be on the next agenda.

For Continuing Education, Erin reviewed the ALA's report titled State of America's Libraries 2024. The discussion was for 19 minutes.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, May 20, 2024.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Lynn Lathrop, seconded by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, to <u>adjourn the meeting</u>. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: Lathrop, McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Woodard, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried. At 6:09 p.m. she adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:		
	Priscilla Gammon, Secretary	Allison Severson, Chairperson
		Theresa Presley, Vice Chairperson