LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONDAY, JUNE 17, 2024, 5:00 P.M.

Chairperson Allison Severson presided and convened the regular meeting of Nevada Library Board of Trustees on Monday, June 17, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. at the Nevada Public Library, 631 K Avenue, Nevada, Iowa. The agenda was posted on the official bulletin board in compliance with the open-meeting law.

The roll was called indicating that the following named Trustees were present and absent. Present: Emily Fulton, Priscilla Gammon, Tim McLaughlin, Theresa Presley, Allison Severson, and James Woodard. Absent: Lynn Lathrop.

Others in attendance were Library Director Erin Coughlin, and Donna Mosinski.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Theresa Presley, to <u>approve the agenda</u> as posted. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Woodard, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

There was no one present who wished to address the Board at this time.

Motion by Board Member James Woodard, seconded by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, to approve the following *consent agenda* items as submitted:

- (1) Approve minutes of the May 20, 2024 regular meeting
- (2) Approve June 2024 **claims** totaling \$15,488.37 (see attached list)
- (3) Accept and place on file the Director's **memo** dated June 14, 2024
- (4) Accept and place on file May 2024 financial report

The roll being called, the following named board members voted. Ayes: Woodard, McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Emily Fulton, to increase the Student Intern Clerk wages by \$0.25 per hour on July 1, 2024 for those clerks that have been employed longer than 90 days at the library. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Fulton, Gammon, Presley, and Woodard. Nays: Severson. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

Motion by Board Member James Woodard, seconded by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, to elect Allison Severson as Chair, Theresa Presley as Vice-Chair, and Priscilla Gammon as Secretary. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: Woodard, McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Fulton, and Gamon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

The Committee Appointments are as follows:

Technology: Tim McLaughlin, Jim Woodard, and Priscilla Gammon

Gift: Jim Woodard, Priscilla Gammon, and Emily Fulton

Strategic Plan: Lynn Lathrop, Allison Severson, and Theresa Presley Budget: Tim McLaughlin, Allison Severson, and Lynn Lathrop

Erin discussed the draft of the Strategic Plan. She has reviewed it with the State Library and made some changes. She will bring it back to the board to look at again in July and then for final approval in August.

Library Director Erin Coughlin reported on:

- There have been between 330 and 350 kids sign up for the Sumer Learning Challenge.
- Erin has applied for an Arts Midwest GIG Fund Grant to start a Midwest Artist series.
- There will be an Eagle Scout project going on in Patton Park later on in the year.

For Continuing Education, Erin reviewed Chapters 3 and 10 in the Iowa Library Trustee's Handbook. They discussed those chapters for 12 minutes.

James Woodard left at 5:51 p.m.

Motion by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Theresa Presley, to approve a 5% increase in wage for Library Director Erin Coughlin beginning July 1, 2024. The roll being called, the following named members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Presley, Severson, Fulton, and Gammon. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried.

The next meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. Monday, July 15, 2024.

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Board Member Tim McLaughlin, seconded by Board Member Emily Fulton, to *adjourn the meeting*. The roll being called, the following board members voted. Ayes: McLaughlin, Fulton, Gammon, Presley, Severson. Nays: None. Chairperson Allison Severson declared the motion carried. At 6:08 p.m. she adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:		
	Priscilla Gammon, Secretary	Allison Severson, Chairperson